The WESTMEADOWS Football Club was founded in 1970 by a group of local community members looking to provide the children of the area an opportunity to play Australian Rules Football.

Today over 40 years on, some of those founding members are still actively involved in the running of the club. In the first year the club had one Under 11`s team with the club adding an additional team each year, In 1977 the club had the first open age team competing in the EDFL.

The Club has had a number of players who have played VFL/AFL football and these include Kevin McGuire, Andrew Krakouer, Corey McKernan, Anthony Dwyer, Anthony McGregor, Scott Wynd, Craig Ellis, Jordan Bannister, Andrew Welsh & the 2011 Brownlow Medalist Dane Swan.